FysFysikum PhD Spring Meeting 2018-05-18

1. Opening of the meeting

2. Meeting Formalities

Election of the Chairman: Kess Marks Election of Secretary: Emma Anderson

Election of revisers: Pil Maria Saugmann and Moa Kristiansson

Approval of the minutes from fall meeting 15-11-2017

List of Attendees:

Emma Anderson, Kess Marks, Nabila Shaikh, Carl Niblaeus, Richard Edberg, Chi Zhang, Alban Seguinard, Fabien Pokorny, Roberto De Andres, Vivek Unikandanunni, Mikica Kocic, Anders Lundkvist, Filip Backman, Nanna Zhou Hagström, Natalie Wilson, Kajsa My Blomdahl, Chang Liu, Gustav Eklund, Moa Kristiansson, Jorge Larana Aragon, Pil Maria Saugmann, Irina Dumitru, Elisabet Edvardsson, Naemi Florin, Kumar Neeraj, Ole Andersson.

3. Information from Fysikum's administration (Isa Callderyd Öhman and Lisa Välivinio)

Administration is responsible for: HR, economy, IT, student advisors, communication

<u>Primula</u> - apply for vacation, report illness, update your address, wage statements and more

Vacation Information - description of the rules and PRIMULA

Illness/wellness

- -Feelgood the SU healthcare provider for work related illness. You can contact them to discuss if it is a work related issue.
- -Prescription medicine can be reimbursed 'receptspecifikation'
- Medial appointments can be reimbursed (doctors, physiotherapists etc)
- Wellness activity 1500 sek per employment calendar

Travel

- New information on the website: Staff -> support for personnel -> Business travel
- Must use BCD travel for university paid travel.
- Travel bill should be made in Primula no older than 3 months.
- Deadline date for submission to administration for bills is 10th of the month for the payment to be in the same month.

4. Information on PhD studies

<u>Licentiate Changes</u> - New rules for Licentiate are now in place. See website for details.

Broadening course - compulsory for students who started after 1 July 2017.

<u>Introductory Course (Sten Hellman)</u> - Introduces the proposed structure of the *Introduction Course*. It will contain 5 blocks: Introduction to the department, Time management, Ethics, Philosophy and history of science, Academic writing. This *Introductory Course* is compulsory for students beginning 1 Jan 2018. There was much interest in the Academic Writing block by current students who are not required to complete this course.

5. Deputy Director of Studies (Fredrik Hellberg)

Teaching assignments. Apply for teaching by filling out and submitting for to Fredrik. Teaching assignments include labs and tutorials, physics show, hollywood physics, PRAO - work experience students, summer students.

Fysikshow/Hollywood - Both groups need new members. Announcement made

6. Equal Opportunities - Sara Strandberg

Contact information: 085537 8673 A4:1025 strandberg@fysik.su.se

- Equal Conditions committee is the committee that deals with these issues. There are two PhD member who are representatives on this committee.
- Sara outlines the SU equal opportunities statement.
- As employees we are required to report any instance of harassment or instances where university policy is not adhered to. You ca contact Sara Strandberg or the PhD council member representative.

7. Report of PhD council board for 2018

Working groups on Broad course, introductory course. Information for new PhD students. A new PhD council website is underway. We have participated in Interdepartmental Pubs.

8. Election of members to the boards

PhD Council Board

Chairman	Kajsa My Blomdahl	Atomic Physics
Vice Chairman	Jesper Norell	Chemical Physics

Regular Members		Substitute
Nabila Shaikh	Elementary Particle Physics	
Jesper Norell	Chemical Physics	
Irina Dumitru	KomKo	
Carl Niblaus	COPS	
Eduardo Valdes	Instrumentation Physics	
Jakob Ödén	Medical Radiation Physics	Helena Sandström
Naemi Florin	KomKo	Pil Saugmann
Axel Erbing	Chemical Physics	
Gustav Eklund	Atomic Physics	

PhD council Treasury

Cashier	Nabila Shaikh
Revisor	Anders Lundkvist
Revisor	Mikica Kosic

Fysikum Styrelse

Regular	Substitute
Chairman	Vice Chairman
Jesper Norell	Pil Saugmann

Forskarutbildningskommittén (researcher education committee)

Regular	Substitute
Nabila Shaikh	Natalie Wilson
Mikica Kosic	Gustav Eklund
Irina Dumitru	Moa Kristiansson

Grundutbildningskommittén (basic education committee)

Regular	Substitute
Gustav Eklund	Moa Kristiansson
Axel Erbing	vacant

KFS (the committee for research strategy)

Regular	Substitute
---------	------------

vacant	vacant
--------	--------

Committee for equal opportunities

Regular	Substitute
Naemi Florin	vacant
Irina Dumitru	vacant

Safety Officer

Regular	Substitute
Kess Marks	Nanna Zhou Hangström

Budget Committee

Regular	Substitute
Nabila Shaikh	vacant

Datorkommittén (computer committee)

Regular	Substitute
Axel Erbing	Mikica Kosic

PR committee

Regular	Substitute
Linda Giacomozzi	Irina Dumitru

9. Questions?

A discussion of Licentiate and connection to 50% salary income occurred. It was agreed it was important for the PhD council to stay on top of this issue.

10. Closing of the meeting