PhD council fall meeting

Meeting minutes 13.00-15.00, November 15, 2019

<u>Present:</u> Cody Sterling (Chem), Roger Cattaneo (KOMKO), Eike Müller (CoPS), Nadia (Konstantina) Dachlythra (CoPS), Alexandre Adler (CoPS), Sara Boscolo Bibi (Chem), Sharon Berkowicz (Chem), Kunal Deoskar (ELPA), Jesper Norell (Chem), Pil Maria Saugmann (KOMKO, until ca 14.30), Naemi Florin (KOMKO), Matti Jansson (ELPA), Filip Backman (ELPA), Tomas Palmqvist (MSF), Johan Sörngård (Atom), Isabelle Tanseri (CoPS), Jorge Laraña Aragon (CoPS), Ana Sagues Carracedo (CoPS, from ca 14.30)

Meeting formalities

- o Election of chair
 - Kaisa.
- Election of secretary and adjusters
 - Elected Jesper (secretary) and Johan, Naemi (adjusters).
- Approval of meeting being announced according to procedure
 - Approved
- o Confirming the agenda
 - Confirmed.

Approval of previous minutes

Spring meeting protocol approved.

Report from cashier

 Gustav Eklund took over after Nabila Shaikh in September and there have been no transactions since then. The current balanced is 1435 kr. The revisors have nothing to add.

Application for council founding

 The council decides that Gustav Eklund should apply for funding from SUS for both the fall term of 2019 and spring term of 2020.

Information about representation

 Pil gives an overview of SU, the faculty of science, the department and PhD student representation. All the boards and committees were briefly introduced and the system of prolongation was also explained.

Faculty elections

NFR representative for Fysikum:

• Ordinary: Alexandre Adler, Secondary: Nadia Dachlythra

· Faculty nominations

Befodringsnämnden:

• Ordinary: Matti Jansson.

Docentberedningen:

• Ordinary: Eike Müller. Secondary: Nadia Dachlythra.

Sektionsberedningen:

• Ordinary: Matti Jansson.

Forskarutbildningsberedningen:

• Ordinary: None. Secondary: Anton Ljungdahl.

Lärarförslagsnämnden:

• Ordinary: Kajsa-My Blomdahl. Secondary: Matti Jansson.

Stipendieberedningen:

Ordinary: Sara Boscolo Bibi. Secondary: None.

No nominees:

CDR, ON, AU, Infogruppen.

Vacant position in PhD Council board

 Katherine Dunne (Instrument) is elected to replace Natalie Wilson as ordinary member.

Information about central positions

 CDR will nominate for a number of central positions for PhD students, such as RALV and RASK. Kajsa will forward information via email.

Report from the chairman

- Prolongation will now also be given for committees at Fysikum. It is half the "standard" amount for previously decided committees: 1 day base + 0.5 days per meeting. When assigned specific tasks, the PhD student, the chair of the committee and the director of studies can decide on extra prolongation, corresponding to the time consumption of the specific task.
- The bylaws of the PhD council appear to have been lost with the old wiki site.
 To establish the validity of the council we therefore need to write down and approve new ones. To do this properly the council charges the board (with Kajsa as main responsible) to contact the doktorandombud for help with

drafting a new document of bylaws that can hopefully be approved by the spring meeting.

Other issues

- Social events
 - The council board believes it is part of their work to organize social events for the PhD students of the department. Astronomy, for instance, has funding for organizing external activities for PhD students. About once per year, we already organize one pub in the faculties series of PhD pubs. But we would like more internal activities, so the council board wonders if anyone have ideas or are willing to take responsibility for organizing some future events. Kunal, Ana and Jorge volunteers.
 - Jorge has organized for a PhD pub that will start right after the meeting and be held outside the restaurant.