PhD Council Autumn Meeting

Meeting minutes

Wednesday 24 November 2021 at 15.00-16.41

Present: Nadia Flodgren, Jorge Laraña Aragón, Filippo Schiavo, Roger Cattaneo, Maddalena Bin, Ahmed Abouelkomsan, Christian Setzer, Vasileios Fragkos, Sunniva Jacobsen, Aliki Litsa, Isabelle John, Joakim Flinckman, Lukas Rødland, Natalia Kule, Cody Sterling, Adam Andrews, Ana Sagués Carracedo, Kunal Deoskar, Nadia Dachlythra, Alexandre Adler, Mattias Poline

1) Opening of the meeting

2) Meeting formalities

- a) Confirmation of meeting being announced according to procedure
 - i) Confirmed
- b) Confirmation of the agenda
 - i) Confirmed
- c) Election of chairperson
 - i) Jorge Laraña Aragón is elected chairperson
- d) Election of secretary
 - i) Nadia Flodgren is elected secretary
- e) Election of two adjusters
 - i) Joakim Flinckman is elected adjuster
 - ii) Filippo Schiavo is elected adjuster
- 3) Approval of previous minutes (Spring meeting (210528) minutes)
 - a) Approved

4) Report from the cashier

a) Jorge reports since Kunal is not here yet. The council had a lot of funding after the pandemic and spent it on organizing a social event this September to bring PhD students to campus. The council will now apply for the operating grant from SUS (500 kr) for this autumn semester. For this autumn meeting we obtained a grant from SUS for money that we spent on fika and pizza.

5) Report from the revisors

a) The revisors (Jorge Laraña Aragón and Alexandre Adler) approved the report from the cashier before the meeting.

6) Application for council funding from SUS

- a) Operating grant (500 kr)
 - i) We approve that the cashier can apply to SUS for the operating grant (500 kr) for this autumn semester.
- b) Grant for workshops
 - i) Jorge informs us that we can apply to SUS for funding for workshops, for example if we want to bring an external speaker here. Kunal says we can apply for

workshops for other things as well, like how to make a CV. The grants are announced in the spring and the fall.

7) Information about the different councils and faculty work in general

a) Jorge gives a presentation about prolongation for representatives and information about the committees we have elections and nominations for.

8) Nominations and elections of representatives to faculty level

- a) PhD and Student Councils (university and faculty level)
 - i) Elections and nominations are carried out, see Appendix A.
- b) Committees and boards within the faculty of science
 - i) Nominations are carried out, see Appendix A.
- c) Committees and boards within the section for mathematics and physics
 - i) Nominations are carried out, see Appendix A.

9) Reports from the chairperson

a) New-to-Sweden information for international PhD students

i) We have compiled a list of information that newly arrived international PhD students might need when they move to Sweden. It is currently being handled in KUF and will eventually be taken to HR, which will give the information to the new students when they arrive.

b) Follow-up on the workshop "The art of presenting science"

i) Jorge reports that recently we had a last-minute workshop called "The art of presenting science". Maybe 10 people attended this workshop (2-3 hours). It was by Gijs Meeusen who has a background in physics and theatre, who wanted to use his theatre knowledge to help people learn to present science. For a proper (longer) workshop we would need to pay him. Kunal reminds us that for workshops we can apply for grants from SUS.

10) Report from NFR

a) Alexandre Adler reports on what they do in NFR. NFR is currently discussing the Aliens act.

11) Other issues

a) Joakim brings up that the (Covid) recovery program was only available for people employed during a certain time but people employed outside that period were also affected, for example students who started their PhD during the pandemic.

12) Closing remarks

a) Meeting closed

Appendix A: Faculty elections and nominations

Faculty elections

NFR representative for Fysikum: Ordinary: Alexandre Adler Secondary: Aliki Litsa

Faculty nominations

NFR presidium: Chair: --Vice-Chairs: Alexandre Adler

CDR nomination:

Ordinary: --Secondary: --

Områdesnämden:

Ordinary: Nadia Flodgren Secondary: --

Arbetsutskottet:

Ordinary: --Secondary: --

Grundutbildningsberedningen:

Ordinary: Alexandre Adler Secondary: --

Befordringsnämnden:

Ordinary: Matti Jansson Secondary: Ana Sagués Carracedo

Docentberedningen:

Ordinary: Eike Müller Secondary: --

Samverkansberedningen: Ordinary: Sara Boscolo Bibi Secondary: --

Infogruppen:

Ordinary: --Secondary: --

Nomination for committees on section level

Sektionsberedningen: Ordinary: Matti Jansson Secondary: --

Forskarutbildningsberedningen: Ordinary: Aliki Litsa Secondary: Nadia Flodgren

Stipendieberedningen:

Ordinary: Sara Boscolo Bibi Secondary: --

Lärarförslagsnämnden:

Ordinary: Alexandre Adler Secondary: Matti Jansson