# **PhD Council Spring Meeting**

# Tuesday 31st May 2022 at 15.00-17.00 in Oskar Klein Auditorium

## Meeting minutes

Participants: Joakim Flinckman, Adam Andrews, Alexandre Adler, Ludvig Doeser, Mathias Poline, Cody Sterling, Eike Müller, Sunniva Jacobsen, Aliki Litsa, Lukas Rødland, Raka Paul (on Zoom), Sambit Kumar Das, Lorenzo Restaino, Nadia Flodgren, Jorge Laraña Aragón, Nadia (Konstantina) Dachlythra, Ana Sagués Carracedo, Gandharva Appagere, Ahmed Abouelkomsan, Filippo Schiavo (on Zoom).

#### 1) Opening of the meeting

#### 2) Meeting formalities

- a) Confirmation of meeting being announced according to procedure: Yes
- b) Confirmation of the agenda: Yes
- c) Election of chairperson: Nadia Flodgren
- d) Election of secretary: Jorge Laraña
- e) Election of two adjusters: Joakim Flickman and Sunniva Jacobsen

#### 3) Approval of previous minutes (Autumn meeting (211124) minutes): Yes

#### 4) Information

a) Information from directors of PhD studies

Per-Erik: covid recovery program v.2. not decided yet. He brought up the prolongation process that should be applied to the faculty. Special reasons for not finishing in time. Just worrying or mental health is not a reason but lack of travelling or missing out on collaborations is. A valid ISP is needed for the procedure.

#### Sten: Presentation.

Digital ISP. He gives overview about the system and the timeline. On the risk of ISPs getting stuck because all signatures are needed. When something changes all signatures need to be entered again. Alex brings up that it is very needed that students are able to see the status of ISP, i.e., which signatures are missing. Career development meeting: Every employee must have it. Not review scientific progress but rather situation as university employee. Also can be done in the presence of director of studies. Then 2 meetings with mentor to discuss this. Then a summary of all these conversations should be appended to ISP (there is such a template on the web). He indicates info on the website-Internt-lärare-forskningsnivå-...(see Sten slides).

#### 5) Information about the PhD council

Nadia gives a presentation on general information about the PhD Council and PhD Council Board. General info about what we do, prolongation...

#### 6) Reports

- a) Report from the treasury
  - i) Report from the cashier: Kunal was not present but Nadia reported on the grant from SUS we got. Every semester we get 500 SEK from SUS. For special end of semester events we can apply for grants like the one we got. Both for PhD pubs and workshops.
  - ii) Report from the revisors: Approved.
- **b)** Information from NFR: Alex gives brief idea on what they usually discuss at NFR. He also mentions some of the committees at faculty level. Also CDR. He talks about currently open positions (unfortunately many of them are only in Swedish).
- c) Report from PhD Council board: on info for newly arrived PhD students to Sweden, evaluations, divison of responsibilities for organizing thesis defences...
- d) Report from the Committee for Equal Opportunities: Raka reports on previous meetings, what they discuss, the Athena-Swan program, survey to check inclusion. Special event 'Town hall' coming up, there will be a small survey and a conversation about the work environment, etc.
- 7) Information from Fysikshow and Hollywood Physics: Jorge and Adam present what Fysikshow and Hollywoodfysik do. They are special activities of the PR committee.

## 8) Elections for the PhD Council board and the committees at Fysikum Done

9) Other issues No issues

## 10) Closing remarks

# APPENDIX: List of positions up for election

Positions (operating language) [prolongation days]:

Regarding prolongation: ordinary members get the number stated in [prolongation days], secondary members only attend meetings the ordinary member cannot attend and only get 1 day per meeting attended. The n stands for n=number of meetings attended.

## PhD Council Board: (English)

## Presidium:

- 1 Chair, [15 days/year]: Nadia Flodgren (CoPS)
- 1 Vice-chair [10 days/year]: Joakim Flinckman (CoPS)

## Ordinary members:

```
7 Ordinary members [2+n days/year (n= number of meetings attended)]:
```

- Roger Cattaneo (KoMKO)
- Ellen Maria Riefel (ELPA)
- Aliki Litsa (CoPS)
- Filippo Schiavo (Medical radiation physics)
- Lukas Rødland (KoMKO)
- Raka Paul (Atom)
- Gandharva Appagere (Instrumentation)

## Treasury:

- 1 Cashier, [2+n days/year]: Alexandre Adler
- 2 Revisors (do not need to be on the board): Aliki Litsa, Sunniva Jacobsen

# Fysikum Board: (Swedish)

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [2+n days/year]
- (- The chair is automatically an ordinary member and the vice-chair a secondary member)
- Ordinary: Nadia Flodgren
- Ordinary: Joakim Flinckman (secondary egentligen)
- Secondary: Sunniva Jacobsen
- Secondary: Mathias Poline

## **Research Education Committee: (English)**

- 3 ordinary + 3 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Filippo Schiavo
- Ordinary: Aliki Litsa
- Ordinary: Nadia Dachlythra
- Secondary: Raka Paul
- Secondary: Lukas Rødland
- Secondary: Gandharva Appagere

#### **Basic Education Committee: (Swedish)**

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Lukas Rødland
- Ordinary: Joakim Flickman
- Secondary: Mathias Poline
- Secondary: Sunniva Jacobsen

#### Committee for Research Strategy: (Swedish with some English)

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Nadia Flodgren
- Ordinary: Roger Cattaneo
- Secondary: Ana Sagués Carracedo
- Secondary: Nadia Dachlythra

#### Committee for Equal Opportunities: (English)

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Raka Paul
- Ordinary: Ellen Maria Riefel
- Secondary: Alexandre Adler
- Secondary: Nadia Dachlythra

#### **Committee for the Working Environment: (Swedish with English recaps)**

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Alexandre Adler
- Ordinary: Ana Sagués Carracedo
- Secondary: Roger Cattaneo
- Secondary: Sunniva Jacobsen

#### **Budget committee: (Swedish with English recaps)**

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Alexandre Adler
- Ordinary: Filippo Schiavo
- Secondary: Nadia Flodgren
- Secondary: Nadia Dachlythra

#### **Computer committee: (English)**

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Gandharva Appagere
- Ordinary: Filippo Schiavo
- Secondary: Raka Paul
- Secondary: Lukas Rødland

## PR committee: (English)

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Sunniva Jacobsen
- Ordinary: Nadia Dachlythra
- Secondary: Gandharva Appagere
- Secondary: Ellen Maria Riefel

## **Technical division committee: (English)**

- 2 ordinary + 2 secondary positions [1+ (n/2) days/year]
- Ordinary: Gandharva Appagere
- Ordinary: Roger Cattaneo
- Secondary: Aliki Litsa
- Secondary: Filippo Schiavo